A Hundred Days To Happiness: Reviewing Your Week

Most of us celebrate Friday because it brings a welcomed break from the work of the week. Since my son moved to his dorm in September, I look forward to seeing him back home on the weekends.

So after I finished at the office yesterday, I drove out to campus to watch him play rugby in a steady downpour. When he was the infant I rocked to sleep in my arms or the toddler I would catch at the bottom of the slide, I would never have imagined that he would go on to play rep hockey, high school football and now the roughest game of all.

After the game, we had a chance to review the week. I asked about the highlights of his week and what he had been working on in his classes and labs, and I told him of some of the funny things I experienced during my week.

Weekends can be a wonderful time to touch bases and reconnect with your family and friends. Kids and adults can get so wrapped up in their own activities during the week that they may not take the time to reflect personally and together.

Your happiness exercise: Reflecting on your past week, ask yourself the questions I asked my son. Did you have fun this week? What were the highlights? What’s been occupying most of your time? What challenges have you had? What did you learn?

Weekend reviews can bring closure to your week. With reflection, you can tell if you’ve been on track doing the things that matter most to you or if you’ve been distracted with the busyness of your life.

We can see how we can grow week by week and day by day. As you begin a new week, make it a priority to do things each day that bring you happiness.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Happiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

