A Hundred Days To Happiness: Centre Your Day On The Balancing Points

I call my personal meditation method, 7 Questions/7 Mantras.

I use it at specific points in each day I choose as balancing points: (1) at the moment of awakening, before I even rise from my bed (so of course the answer to the first question may be a full bladder or the emotional remnants of a vaguely remembered dream), (2) soon after getting into the rhythm of my morning swim, (3) at my midday meditation break also known as lunch time, (4) at the close of my work day, and (5) at night as I again lie on my bed.

I also ask the seven questions and invoke the seven mantras when I am awakened by the “meditation gongs” of daily life: a page or a telephone call, an emotional reaction in myself, any interpersonal conflict or anything that may surprise me. Wherever I am and whatever I may be doing, they allow me to re-centre.

The seven questions bring to greater consciousness different aspects of my consciousness in the present moment. What am I feeling? What am I thinking? What am I doing? What am I saying? What do I see? How am I relating? Who am I?

The seven mantras reaffirm – and if I have strayed, realign me with – my true self and my ultimate goals. Each is my answer to the corresponding question.

What am I feeling?  Feel my breath.

What am I thinking?  Think on peace.

What am I doing?  Walk in grace.

What am I saying? Speak the truth.

What do I see?  See beauty.

How am I relating?  Express love.

Who am I?  Experience wonder.

At this site, I’ll be posting further instructions on my personal approach to meditation – a method to align your outer and inner selves and discover peace, personal meaning and authentic happiness.

Your happiness exercise for today: Choose your balance points for today. At these times, stop whatever you are doing and ask the seven questions of yourself. Is what you feel, think, say and do aligned with your true self?

Don’t be hard on yourself but be honest.

You’re greater happiness requires both self-awareness and self-acceptance.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

