A Hundred Days To Happiness: TGIF or TGIL?

Too often we look to Friday with exasperation, and see the weekend as relief and respite from the weekday grind.

Thank, God. It’s Friday.

Classes are done for the week. I’m done with work. I finally get to sleep in. Let’s get out of town. Time to shop. Time to party.

I think it’s great to look forward to weekends when you can spend more time with your partner, family and friends. It’s good to plan special meals and activities with those you love the most.

But if we just live for our weekends, what does that say about the rest of our lives? Is over 70% of each week (and of our lives) drudgery, torture or just putting in time?

I believe in hard work but it must be meaningful, and I have to be fully present while I do it. Life is too precious, and I don’t want to miss one minute of it.

This is my life, my only life. Though I don’t choose all that it gives me, I choose to make the most of all that it presents. I want to get the most out of every day. I choose to celebrate each day.

Every day of my life is full of discovery and adventure. If I look for them, I will find opportunities to make a positive difference in the lives of those I meet. If I am open to it, I will see beauty in my world and in others. If I live deeply, I will discover new insights into my life, my world and my relationships.

I choose to live each day feeling like I’ve made a difference – that I have made the world a better place for others by the way I have lived today.

Your happiness exercise: At the end of this week (and every week), think T.G.I.L. Thanks for the Grace In my Life. At our family dinner table, we each take stock of our weeks. Consider yourself the questions I ask my kids (and myself).

What did you accomplish this week? Who did you help? Who helped you? What did you learn at work or at school? What did you learn about yourself? Where did you find happiness? What will be your greatest memory from this past week?

The more you think about these questions as you live each day – including your weekdays, the more significant your answers will be by the time the next weekend comes along.

 

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Purpose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

