A Hundred Days To Happiness: If You Could Live Your Life Over

During my early university years, I came across an anonymous poem that began, “If I had my life to live over . . . ”

It wasn’t about regret. Rather, it was a reflection on how with the perspective of hindsight, we realize what matters most in life, and if we had the chance to do things over, we would devote our time and energies much differently.

There are many versions of this poem, including versions by Nadine Stair and Don Herold. The phrases that resonate with me still include:

I wouldn’t take so many things so seriously.

I would make more mistakes. I would take more chances.

I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers.

I would start barefooted earlier in the spring and stay that way later in the fall.

I would go to more dances. I would ride more merry-go-rounds. I would pick more daisies.

Your exercise in happiness: Take some time today to reflect on your life so far. What have you learned? Where have you found joy?

Now none of us gets a chance to live life over, but if you’re reading this, you’re alive and you have today . . . and probably tomorrow, and you can choose how to live your life from this moment on.

So with the wisdom you have acquired so far, how will you spend the precious moments of this day?

 

 

 

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Wisdom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

