A Hundred Days To Happiness: Making The Most Of This Weekend

My work week can be so overloaded with patient care that the paperwork can pile up very quickly. 40 hours of my week is face-to-face with my patients in my office. Time spent in nursing homes or in the delivery room is more variable and unpredictable.

What my patients don’t see is the time spent at my desk, filling out forms, writing letters, completing medicolegal reports, and reviewing and acting on lab results and reports. This amounts to about 10 hours each week (if I don’t have any medicolegal reports to write).

If I’m not careful, all that paperwork can spill into the weekend and displace my precious family time.

How do you use your time? How do you preserve and make the most of the time you spend with the people who matter most to you?

It’s easy to take this time for granted. If you’re a student, you can spend all your free time studying and doing research. Work can expand to consume all your time and energy.

We don’t want to discover later in life that we spent too much of our time at work and too little time with the people we love.

Just as my weekdays are scheduled with appointments with time allotted to paperwork, I find it helpful to schedule my weekend and evening time. Of course, my patients’ variable and expanding lists of problems often throw the schedule off just as life can change my weekend plans with the family.

As much as possible, I choose to spend my time where I find the most meaning.

How have you spent your precious time this week? Outside of laundry, housework, grocery shopping and errands, what will you do with your personal time this weekend? How will you dedicate time with the people you love?

To have the time of your life, mindfully use the time in your life.

 

 

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Purpose, Relationships, Your Goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

