Mastering Procrastination 1: I’ve been meaning to write this post . . .

For a long time, I’ve been meaning to write about procrastination, but I never got around to it until an old friend brought up the subject last week. There just never seems to be enough time left over after work and family activities. There’s always something else that has to be done.

Then there are all the other alternatives that take less effort and give more immediate gratification. I could watch a movie, go for a 2nd or 3rd swim of the day, do some extra sets in the weight room, hang out with friends, take my road bike out for a spin, or read a few chapters from a great novel.

I could also keep busy doing those mindless tasks that have to be done anyway – putting in a few loads of laundry, mowing the lawn, weeding the garden, and looking for other things to fix around the house.

But I don’t like that nagging, vaguely guilty feeling of procrastination. It holds me back from feeling completely relaxed and at ease. It prevents me from enjoying all the fun things I would rather do with my time.

That feeling is not unlike the feeling a physician gets if he’s not quite done with the last patient before moving on to the next. If the diagnosis doesn’t quite fit or there seemed to be some crucial information missing, I won’t feel comfortable unless I take the extra time to review the chart and call my patient back.

Next: Physicians are no strangers to procrastination.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Procrastination, Your Goals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mastering Procrastination 1: I’ve been meaning to write this post . . .

  1. mysterycoach says:

    🙂 It sounds like you provide excellent service to your patients. I like this a lot.

    • Thanks, MC. I try my best. It’s a new approach physicians are using in British Columbia and other parts of North America. In assisting our patients in the self-management of their health, we no longer call patients “non-compliant” if they don’t follow the doctor’s orders. We now recognize that goal setting should be patient-centred and collaborative.

      • mysterycoach says:

        I read the “non-compliant” part and my eyes teared up. Mainly due to the half interested doctor visits I have endured, how I’ve had to deal with pediatricians and facilities where they tell ME what’s going to happen. Versus educating me and informing me. One facility told me, when my daughter was approximately 5 yrs., old that if she didn’t hurry up and get on the x-ray table they would have attendants come and hold her down.

        I went over to the window and advised her it was not my fault her waiting room was overbooked and running people through like cattle. She was going to have the patience required until I convinced my daughter to lie down and not be afraid. Which only took … I think it was like tops 5 more minutes. That’s a big scary machine! 🙂

        I wrote something on a page on my blog, if you like, please come read it. It’s not intended to be offensive. It’s geared more towards what you are saying as to collaboration with the patient. It’s entitled “Doctor’s Medications Surprise Endings” I also had a responsibility to acknowledge myself what the problem was. However, I feel that had I gone to say a psychiatrist I would have been given a prescription. I know that physicians are going on what they are told, so it makes this screening I’m talking about more difficult. I understand this 100%.

        Maybe what you’re doing will spread. I would love that… to be treated with respect, dignity and heard? Awesome.

      • Thanks, M.C. I’ll check out your post!

  2. Pingback: Mastering Procrastination 1: I’ve been meaning to write this post . . . (via Positive Potential Medicine) « Mysterycoach's Blog

Leave a Reply

