Turning Mega-Goals into Goals You Can Achieve Today

We all procrastinate something in our lives.

I recognize this when patients follow-up not having started their exercise program or not having done the blood tests I requested last year. At the same time, I realize that I have procrastinated calling up an old friend to catch up. Every weekend, I feel vaguely guilty having not cleaned up the clutter in my study.

As I wrote in my earlier blogs on procrastination, we put off what we mean to do for many reasons.

Sometimes, it is because the task at hand is so huge and overwhelming we don’t know where to begin. Afraid of feeling buried in work with no end in sight, we don’t even start.

That’s why you may never get around to starting that novel you’ve been aching to write most of your life, why you don’t even take the first steps towards applying for the job of your dreams, or why don’t give up your reliable day job and start studying the subject that you love.

Do you have a mega-goal – a life dream you’ve never really started because you lack the confidence that you can really bring it to completion?

A student I know is working full-time while she completes her undergraduate degree and her prerequisites for dental school. She originally planned to study to be a dental hygienist but when she thought about it, she realized that she was taking a lot of the same prerequisite courses and what she would really love to do was dentistry.

Though the road to acceptance into dental school is daunting, she asked herself, “Why not give it my best? If I don’t make it in at least I would have tried and I’d still be where I am now.”

So if you’re afraid of trying and failing, why don’t you turn it around like this. If you try, persevere and succeed, you may live your dreams. If you give it your best, you won’t be looking back on your life with regret and wondering, “What if . . . ?”

Coming up: Gaining Confidence by Achieving Small Victories

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Positive Change, Positive Potential, Procrastination, Your Calling, Your Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turning Mega-Goals into Goals You Can Achieve Today

  1. mysterycoach says:

    oooh. I hate when you make perfect sense. 🙂 I LOVE psychology, I read up on things every day, little by little … It’s an amazing field and I used a lot of the skills I learn in every day life, not only for my own life but to help others in my life too. I’ve threatened to write a book for a while and I find I hesitate. I know good stuff too 🙂 This is a very good post.

Leave a Reply

