What Are You Most Thankful For Today?

Today, when I think of what I value most and what I am most thankful for, it turns out not to be what I had wished or worked for.

Much of our lives we worry – about money and health, school and work, getting ahead and falling behind, moving forward and getting old. We can become preoccupied with the major and minor crises of each day or the attractive distraction of the moment – fashionable clothes, new songs or the latest innovation in consumer technology.

We can get caught up in the drama of our lives – conflicts and arguments, falling in and out of love, and the challenge of just getting along with one another. It’s easy to lose sight of the value and meaning we find in our most important relationships.

At the end of the day – and at the end of life, life turns out to be much more than how much money you made (spent and lost), how many years you went to school, the size of your home, the jobs you had, the clothes you wore and the songs you listened to.

What matters most to me and what I am most thankful for today is the whole point of our time here together: our most important relationships. Life boils down to the essential people in our lives – our best friends, who see the best and worst in us, yet love us anyway and help us to grow; our families, who stand by us, challenge us, forgive us and teach us to love.

I am thankful for the grace of many challenges and gifts in my life, but I am most thankful for my relationships with the special people in my life – past and present – who have made my life meaningful and worthwhile.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Love, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Are You Most Thankful For Today?

  1. Cindy Butler says:

    Thank you for reminding us about what is really precious in life. The things you mention are what we remember, value and help us thrive everyday regardless of what we face.

Leave a Reply

