Read This If You Don’t Have Time To Meditate

Busy people tend to reflect during down time, and if you’re way too busy, that down time rarely comes.

It was during our annual family vacations that I would reflect on all the important areas of my life – and all the details I had neglected throughout the year. Work had a way of creeping in and expanding into every free space in my schedule and in my mind.

On holidays, I would finally have time to relax, reflect and meditate, and from that perspective, I would envision how I would change my life – how, upon my return home, I would devote the time and energy appropriate to the most valued areas of my life.

After a few years, it became obvious that this was not working. Once back home, I would return to the routine of work and allow it to take over the rest of my life.

To reflect on your life is like looking at the map. You have to take the time to determine where you are and how far you may be from your goal. If you instead keep speeding ahead on the same road and along the inevitable detours, you may find yourself far from where you’d like to be and sometimes moving away from your desired destination.

To meditate is to look at your compass, find your bearings and determine if you are in the right place. Waiting for a convenient time to meditate is like waiting for a rest stop or a flat tire before you take out your compass.

You may find yourself far from where you ought to be, doing things you didn’t mean to do,  saying things you didn’t intend and acting out of sync with your true self.

Next: Where can you find time to meditate?

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

