Mindful Regifting

I usually wait ’til January 6th – the twelfth day of Christmas – to take down the tree and lights and pack away the decorations. I like to enjoy them as long as possible (That’s why they were up by the first of December).

This is also the time that we put the gifts away. New clothes are unpackaged and laundered. Jewellery is worn. Books are read. There may still be some chocolates to be eaten.

We may have been lucky and received more than we need. What do you do with the gifts you won’t use?

You might share them with friends and family who may make better use of them. It’s one of the season’s minor moral dilemmas.

The one who gave you a gift put some thought and time into thinking of you, taking the time to buy or make it and going to the trouble of giving it to you before Christmas. We have to be gracious in receiving each gift. It doesn’t feel right to pass that gift to someone else as if you gave the same thought, time and expense.

Maybe we should append a special tag to those special gifts. “This is a gift graciously givenΒ  to me by a friend, but I thought you would make better use of it than I.” In the process, we grant the regiftee the freedom to pass the gift forward to someone more in need.

This is not unlike a chain letter, but it’s better if the chain regifting stops at some point and the gift is enjoyed to it’s fullest (and all that good will comes to fruition).

Tomorrow: The special gifts we ought to give forward.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Grace, Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mindful Regifting

  1. mysterycoach says:

    I have to say, one year I got this little Coach clutch bag purse thingamajigger and I knew I’d never use it, so I regifted it to a friend of mine who loves coach. I knew she’d like and enjoy it. πŸ™‚

    My daughter and I will receive gifts at times, we look at one another when we get home, she swipes the smelly perfummy stuff and I hand it over. I love the thought, but … peuuwww… on some of the scents. No one is the wiser and I appreciate the thought and it gets put to good use and she enjoys it.

    My friend? She bought me a T-shirt this year that says,

    “Be careful or you’ll end up in my novel”. LOL πŸ™‚ Because I’ve been threatening to write a book for so long they think it’s hysterical. Don’t worry, the names will be changed to protect the innocent. LOL πŸ™‚

    Have a very nice day!

Leave a Reply

