Forgiveness: What Holds You Back?

What holds you back . . . from experiencing lasting happiness, from seeing the truth, from loving fully and from achieving your positive potential?

All things ego?

All that narrows your perspective to that of your self-interested ego alone and clouds your vision of your greater self. That greater self is connects you to all others.

This includes our fears – of loss, pain, loneliness and death.

It could be guilt or shame. We let go of this in the challenge of forgiving ourselves.

It could be anger and resentment. We release these through the forgiveness of others.

Tomorrow: The Challenge of Forgiveness.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Compassion, Forgiveness, Grace, Growth, Happiness, Letting Go, Positive Potential, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Forgiveness: What Holds You Back?

  1. mysterycoach says:

    I don’t have guilt or shame. However, the person who holds me back at this point in life, is Me.

    • That’s an awesome and honest realization. Most of us don’t take so much responsibility but rather blame others or bad luck.

      • mysterycoach says:

        I know. I think I used to at some point myself to be honest. Then I learned I’m the common denominator (that took a while to sink in) and … you know, I’m responsible for me, and when it “is” someone else’s fault I hold them accountable OR there’s often times the two people or the group making a mess of things.

        I am holding myself back in a way. Mostly it’s circumstance and the like which I’m not sure how to shift right now. I really don’t. The problem as it stands is I’m not sure WHAT to do… that’s the problem. You know, can’t see the forest for the trees type of thing, feel disheartened more often than not and some of it is due to external things as well. So, it’s truly a combination of things.

        Thank you 🙂 I try my best to be honest with myself. I know when I need to shift. Sometimes, I’m simply not sure where.

      • We have free will and responsibility for our actions but we can’t see the future nor even all of the present. So we don’t know all the potential effects or side effects of our actions today.

        Yet we must still act – according to our best judgement and in alignment with our greatest values.

        In retrospect, we must have compassion for ourselves: we did the best with what we had, what we knew and who we were.

  2. mysterycoach says:

    You’re a compassionate fella aren’tcha? 🙂 I agree with you completely. I think along these lines. Which is why I mentioned that I have no guilt or shame, directly related to the past and things I didn’t know. Nicely said. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

