Finding Comfort With Loss

My father-in-law passed peacefully this Easter Sunday. Recognizing that his long life was ending, he found strength and comfort with what mattered most throughout his life: family and faith.

One of his greatest strengths was his devotion to his family firmly founded on his loving partnership with my mother-in-law. His deepest joy and greatest pride was in his children and grandchildren. With each of them, he shared an unshakable faith and love.

Where do families and friends find comfort with loss?

We are told to hold on to our memories and that they will give us comfort and even happiness in the future. Yet in the immediacy of grief, those memories can be painful. The bereaved often feel an overwhelming void – a profound emptiness.

This is the effect of losing one who has been significant in our lives.

I remember that terrible feeling when my mother died nine years ago. With time, that void was gradually filled with a comforting feeling of gratitude – thankfulness for how I was enriched by my mother, recognition of how deeply she informed every aspect of my life, remembering much of what she had taught me and realizing how she remained an inseparable part of who I am and how I love others. I now find great peace and joy in sharing memories of my mother with my children.

We make sense of our lives – and cope with loss – through our stories. Our memories form the content of those stories. How we tell our stories interprets those memories. We are actors and coauthors in the stories of our lives.

The challenge for each of us is to live each day with the end in mind, attending to what matters most in the grand interweaving stories of our shared lives. At the end of each day and the end of each life, what matters most is love.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Coping with Loss, Easter, Grace, Letting Go, Love, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding Comfort With Loss

  1. mysterycoach says:

    {{{{ Hug }}}} I’m sorry to hear about your mom… and your father in law. My condolences to you and your family…

Leave a Reply

