Seeing Beauty

The 6th mantra of my daily meditation is “See Beauty.”

Beauty is capitalized here because it may not refer to what we normally consider beautiful. Some things naturally appear beautiful to most of us: a pretty face, a healthy young body, a brand-new sports car, a perfect floral arrangement.

What I seek to see is the manifestation of the divine in my world at the present time. It requires a different lens – one polished by a different quality of love – that is, love unconditional. It is not distorted by the cataract of the ego – that desires and competes.

When I have stood before a great work of art, I did not compare it to other things in this world and I did not wish to possess it. I was not dismayed that I could not create anything like Da Vinci.

I allowed the beauty that had inspired the master artist to shine through his work and illuminate my soul. That is the effect of seeing beauty. It is dependent on how the divine light shines through and the clarity of my own vision.

In my life, I strive to be transparent to the transcendent – to allow that which is good and true in myself to become manifest in my presence – in what I say and do, in how I relate to others.

I seek to see the deeper beauty all around me – in my world and in the people I meet – and to accept, love and appreciate them as they are, wishing neither to control or to possess.

Today is my daughter’s birthday.

When I look at her young pretty face, I see more beauty than is apparent on the surface. I see the whole person who she is – the thoughtful, joyful and generous spirit, all that she has been and all she has done at every stage of her life, the potential adult she will become.

I see her through a heart of unconditional love – or omniconditional love – one that is not dependent on her being the top of the class, perfectly obedient, or being perfect in any way; one that loves in the face of human imperfection; one that is not dependent on her being what I would want her to be or doing what I want her to do.

When we see real beauty around us, it can transform and inspire us and inform our relationships. We become more beautiful – transparent to transcendence – expressing real love and acting in accord with our truest selves.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Love, Meditation, Positive Potential, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seeing Beauty

  1. MysteryCoach says:

    Hello David, Please wish your daughter a happy birthday 🙂 Well… she doesn’t know me but the wishes are extended. 🙂

Leave a Reply

