Where Do You See Beauty Today?

Some of us wait for a new life after death – in heaven – to be in the presence of God and to unite with the divine. In the meantime, we toil and sweat, suffer and crave, fight and love. We scurry mindlessly through our days occupied with the concerns of the present and the work of the day.

And we fail to see the beauty all around us.

From the Gospel of Thomas (discovered in Nag Hammadi, Egypt in 1945): “The kingdom of the Father is spread out upon the earth, and men do not see it.

Meister Eckhart, the Christian mystic said, “The eye through which I see God is the same eye through which God sees me, my eye and God’s eye are one.

Are we the eyes of God, created to bear witness to creation?

To see beauty is to see through the illusion of our separate selves – our own egos and the cloak of appearances – and to see the divine that shines through. And by recognizing that transcendent beauty, we allow it to shine through.

I remember my mother’s unconditional love for me. In spite of my very human imperfections, she always saw the best in me, and by seeing the best and believing in me, she brought out that best in me.

To love unconditionally and to see beauty in another is a spiritual experience. So it is to be loved unconditionally and to have beauty seen in you.

Look for beauty today – in the people you meet, in your world and in yourself.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Love, Meditation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Do You See Beauty Today?

  1. Stan Chung says:

    What is your definition of beauty outside that of seeing it in human beings?

    • That which awakens us.
      When I am in the mountains (e.g. the Rockies), out in nature (e.g. Moraine Lake), witnessing great natural beauty, I lose my sense of a separate self.

  2. Elaine Suen says:

    If you can see the beauty in another person, they see the beauty in you.

Leave a Reply

