Endless Summers

When I was young – before starting school, when time was expanded – summer seemed to last forever.

At one point, I thought summer must last an entire year. That would be great for grownups – a one year sabbatical between every year of work. We may never need to retire.

Time would stand still as I would play in the field studying the grasshoppers, ladybugs and honeybees. I could climb a tree and stay there for hours looking at the big world of nature and people all around me.

Some evenings, Mom and Dad would pack us in the station wagon and take us to Deer Lake to feed the ducks. We would take turns paddling in the big canoe.

There was nothing to worry about. No school. No schedule. Maybe some swimming lessons . . . but they were fun. No work . . . except a bit of raking but when you’re a kid, that’s fun too.

Though I’m grown up and working, I still enjoy that warm, relaxed feeling inside when it’s sunny and hot outside. I’m happy that my wife (a school teacher) and my kids get to sleep in and don’t have to worry about homework.

I appreciate the quieter roads during rush hour.

I like seeing all the people out walking from dawn to dusk – without jackets or sweaters. Almost everyone looks more relaxed.

When summer is here, it seems to last forever.

In my own mind, it does.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Grace, Happiness, Letting Go and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

