How My Children Inspire Me

When I became a parent, I became a better person.

I learned to love unconditionally – omniconditionally. From the moment I first held my son in my arms, I recognized the unfathomable responsibility and honour with which I had been entrusted.

My every word and action would influence – for good or ill – the wellbeing of that precious person. He would learn from what I would tell him, what he overhears, how I relate to others, and how I act in our home and in the world.

I had to set an example and be the best person I could be – not perfect – just a fallible human being striving to be my best, to be honest and kind, to be unselfish and giving, and to be a good father.

Each of my children has inspired me in this way. From the perspective of a loving parent, seeing the beauty in each of them has helped me see the beauty in others. They have made me a better person.

Seeing my children discover their special talents reminded me of my own passions and showed me what I might do. My sons’ and daughter’s gift for music inspired me to return to songwriting. My son’s achievements in hockey and football inspired me to push towards my own athletic limits.

My children have been my life’s three most precious gifts, and I have been enriched by the love they have inspired in me. This above all else has made my life richer and fuller than it otherwise would have been.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Love, Parenting, Positive Potential, Relationships, The Qualities of a Child and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

