A Hundred Days to Happiness #48: The best job in the world . . . being a parent

Early entry in Disneyland

On June 1st, 1992, my identity and my life changed forever – for the better.

My first child was born and I became a father. I instantly understood unconditional love and was responsible for the care of someone whose wellbeing was more important than my own.

When our children are still toddlers, we imagine their unlimited potential. What will they learn? What talents will they discover? What will they create?

As my children learned and grew, I learned and grew with them. As they discovered the world, I rediscovered it through their bright and curious eyes. The universe and life itself had become more wondrous to me.

My children taught me the most about giving out and giving forward without expectation. They taught me how to love more fully and unconditionally, and they taught me how to forgive.

They may not realize that it was they who helped me through the loss of my mother. They  embodied my mother’s legacy. The love my mother gave to me in our life together was the love I now give to each of my children and the love that they will give forward to others.

Now 23 years old, my son is a popular, talented and caring young man with a bold and bright future ahead of him. I am proud of the choices he has made and who he has become, but even if he was not all these things, I would still love him just the same because each of my children have taught me how to love.

As I raised them, my children have raised me up and made me a better person.

About Davidicus Wong

I am a family physician. I write a weekly newspaper column, Healthwise for the Vancouver Courier, Burnaby Now, Royal City Record and Richmond News.
This entry was posted in Forgiveness, Happiness, Love, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

